WhatsApp extends “Delete for everyone” time limit to over 1 hour

WhatsApp has again made drastic changes to its “Delete for everyone” feature. You can now remove all messages you send within an hour.

WhatsApp increases message deletion duration

WhatsApp users can now remove any message within 1 hour, 8 minutes and 16 seconds (68 minutes) of sending it to a contact.

This is ample time to correct any erroneous message that you might to sent to someone.

The instant messaging app first introduced this feature back in October 2017. However, it was initially limited to a very small duration of just 7 minutes.

Some users were also able to update messages they sent years ago by exploiting a loophole in the app. This security flaw has now been fixed by the developers in the latest update.

This new feature is a part of the March update and, hence, you must upgrade the app. It will not work on older versions of the app and the older limit will apply.

How to use the “Delete for everyone” feature

Usage remains exactly the same as before. Just tap the delete option and you are all set. You can learn more about its usage here.

  • Open WhatsApp and go to the message you want to delete.
  • Long-press the message and select the Delete option.
  • Tap Delete for all.

Once you tap this button, the selected message will no longer be visible to any of the recipient or recipients in a group chat.

Just remember to delete the message within the given timeframe or else this feature will cease to work.

Also, the device of the recipients or contacts must be switched on when you are about to delete a message.

Is it right on the developers’ part to add such a feature that can be easily misused? Leave your comments below.

For more WhatsApp news and updates, follow us on Twitter and Facebook.

Leave a Reply

Share9
Tweet