How to Delete a WhatsApp Message after sending

How many times do you send the right WhatsApp message to the wrong person? The answer is many. Here’s how you can delete a WhatsApp message after it’s sent and delivered to a contact.

Why is this important?

There are times when we accidentally send a WhatsApp message to the wrong person. This actually happens more often than we admit.

For example, you wish to send a meme to your friend and accidentally send it to your boss. What next? You will surely end up getting fired from your job.

What will happen if you intend to send something to your SO and send it to a friend of yours by mistake? Here’s how you can stop this from happening.

How to Delete a WhatsApp Message after sending 

1. Disable your internet

Turn off your internet connection instantly after you sending the wrong message. Simply, open up your Control Center and disable your WiFi or mobile data instantly.

ios 11 control center

Although this is not as effective as people make it out to be, it’s still worth a try if you don’t have a jailbreak.

2. WA Delete Message (Jailbreak method)

As its name suggests, WA Delete Message Cydia tweak allows you to delete a message after you have sent it. It is developed by talented tweak developer, Othman Alomiry.

This means once you delete a message you send to a contact, they won’t be able to see anything on their device.

Their device will only display – “This message was deleted”. This is a total lifesaver.

Here’s how this tweak looks like in action.

delete whatsapp messages after sending

This is a surefire method for recalling delivered messages. Its only downside is that you need a jailbreak to get it working.

WA Delete Message is available for download on BigBoss Cydia repo for free. It is compatible with iOS 9 and 10.

Once you install it, it will start working right off the bat. There are no options that you need to configure. Moreover, it is also compatible with other WhatsApp tweaks such as Watusi.

3. Official Deletion method

WhatsApp now allows you to delete all sent messages within seven minutes of sending it to your contacts. Just like the above method, your contacts will get the “This message was deleted” notification in place of your sent messages.

  • Navigate to the chat wherein you want to delete a message.
  • Press on the desired message and tap Delete in the pop-up menu.
  • You can also check several messages and delete them together.
  • Tap Delete > Delete for all.

Did you get it working?

Even if you don’t come across such situations, it’s always great to have a backup plan. I also recommend giving these methods a test run so you can be sure everything is working like it should.

Remember, these are the only methods that work right now. If you come across any other “hack” or “trick”, chances are that it’s fake.

If none of these methods work for you, just leave a comment below.

For more WhatsApp tips and tricks, follow and like us on Twitter and Facebook.

Leave a Reply

Share4
Tweet